Thai Peanut Zoodles | Recipes

Healthy Recipes: Thai Peanut Zoodles

One of the millions of amazing things that I will miss about summer is the farmer’s market. Every Tuesday in downtown Syracuse local farmers and vendors set up shop to sell super fresh produce. There are even a few cool tents selling things like flowers, olive oil, goat cheese, & cheese stuffed pepperoni (YAAASS). Another cool booth to check out is one that does cooking demos. I wasn’t able to sit through the demo, but I got a little recipe card and sample of Thai Peanut Zoodles.

First thought…what the fuck’s a zoodle? 

Google | Zoodles

Okay, cool. I can work with that. I’m into zucchini. I’ve never done this whole zoodle thing but it seems kind cool. Then I tried the Thai Peanut Zoodles and it was game over. This shit was delicious. My turn to try making it. So like anything else, I run to the store quick, grab what I think I need, get home, realize I don’t have like 3 of the ingredients, so then I just wing it. (Get used to this – sorry!). Then the mess begins!
  In order to actually create the zoodles, many people use a special cooking tool called a Veggetti (LOL). I am not Martha enough to have this Veggetti apparatus, so I just used a cheese grater. It worked grate 😉

Here’s where it gets a little tricky, because as I’ve already stated, I always wing it. So exact measurements don’t exist. I like to go with the Emril Lagasse approach and just toss shit in bowls while making noises.

So here’s my steps after you’ve got your cute little zoodles set aside.

In a bowl combine approximately:
2 Tablespoons Soy Sauce (I used low sodium)
1-2 Tablespoons Rice Vinegar
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil (Or sesame oil, if you have it!)
1 Heaping Tablespoon of Local Raw Honey
2 Scoops Crunchy Peanut Butter
1-2 Cloves of Pressed Garlic
1/2-1 Tablespoon Grated Ginger Root (to taste)
**Disclaimer-Pictured you will see tomato paste. Do not use that in this recipe. It will taste like shit. That was a wandering grocery item that ended up in the picture:)

You’ll then want to stir/whisk together the ingredients in the bowl so they’re blended nicely. At that point, I stained my zoodles for any excess water so the final product wasn’t watery. Then, pour/scoop the ingredients from the bowl into the zoodles and shake it up!! Let this sit in the fridge for at least half an hour before eating. Then enjoy!

I have to say, my boyfriend absolutely loved this recipe. Mine wasn’t quite as exceptional as what I tried at the farmers market, but I’m confident the next time it’ll get better!! Here are some similar recipes to check out and try for yourself:
Our Best Bites
My Skinny Sweet Tooth
The Lemon Bowl
Cupcakes and Kale Chips

 What’s your favorite zucchini or squash recipe?!

Love Always, Brook ❤

2 thoughts on “Healthy Recipes: Thai Peanut Zoodles

Leave Some Love

